Cold for concentration

I’ve been acclimating myself to the cold lately (and increasing Vitamins C and D, until my immune system catches up), and noticed that the more ruthless parents of “forced prodigies” had the right idea, with respect to cold. It really does aid focus conspicuously, especially in abstract, technical subjects. Wearing a T-shirt and jeans in forty degrees, I was shocked to find my reading speed almost doubled and my comprehension increased slightly (I measure these).

I do not, however, think it is a good idea to spend one’s cognitive energy reserves and die of cerebral hemorrhage in middle age.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold for concentration

  1. automatthew says:

    High intelligence works better at lower temperatures. My usual body temperature is 97.1 fahrenheit. 98.6 is a low grade fever for me, but the only symptom I notice is feeling stupid.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      I have also noticed a tendency to low blood pressure. Might have said that already, it’s getting hard to remember in my old age.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Oh yeah, I should also note that the first half hour of warmth after coldness actually feels like drunkenness. Dunno if I just acclimate to the new level of function, or if it’s merely a temporary drunkenness.

  2. Aeoli Pera says:

    >Vitamin D is a Hormone, as it is produced endogenously and released directly into the blood stream. I have taken both the aforementioned for well over a year at a time, and the effects of both are noticed within at least 30 minutes to an hour.

    Being a ginger is definitely beneficial in this way. I need very little sun exposure. Plus, my diet is pretty heavy on Hormone D, and I take a multivitamin too.

    >An aggressive regiment of broccoli also cured a serious knee injury that I had for years. Cold weather would exasperate it and I could barely walk. The left knee would wobble and lose balance if I did not concentrate on it. Eating broccoli cured it. Broccoli is one of natures highest known sources of vitamin C.

    >Vitamin C is actually a precursor to procollagen; an important step in the construction of the human knee. Eating enough Vitamin C will cause cartilage to repair itself. Specifically, since Vitamin C is a precursor to procollagen, all the damaged tissue will repair itself when necessary.

    >Cold showers (or imitations of cold weather) no longer bother the afflicted knee.

    This is an extraordinary observation. It’s like Hippocrates said, let food be thy medicine. I understand they aren’t the brightest folks, but why the hell haven’t gerontologists figured this out yet? After a little exposure to healthcare, I’m beginning to suspect the conspiracy theory folks were right once again.

    >p.s. Ill see if I can get the pages copied from the book, and studies, that I learned this information from.

    Don’t waste your time, I’ll take your word for it.

    >p.p.s. I do not want to sound pompous. I am merely trying to exchange and share information in a rational way.

    You don’t sound pompous here, although your e-mail always does :-).

    >p.p.p.s. The Holocene is over.

    Thank God, and God help us all.

Leave a Reply

