Parkway Drive – Blue and the Grey

This song is simply Parkway Drive doing what they do best. Hits me right in the feels, as one commenter put it. It’s intense, well-layered, epic, and wistful. All things I like, and difficult to find together. A lot of their new stuff has been too self-consciously “heavy”, for which I couldn’t care less, but this song stands out.

I’ve always really liked a good blend of hard and soft in my music, just as I’ve always felt compelled to crack jokes in serious moments and keep my guard up in the midst of happy times. Keeps my feet on the ground in both cases. Maybe that’s why? Koanic has said mixing everything all together in a holistic smoothie is just normal TT cognition, which might explain it. Normal people seem to be offended by this because we’re all supposed to express the same feels at the same time.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parkway Drive – Blue and the Grey

  1. slenkar says:

    music is the main thing I have differences with to most neander types. I dont like this type of music really. The guitar solo near the end is good though.
    I like Burzum which is mostly instrumental. It is very rare that I find someone who likes the blues guitar solo music that I like. Maybe that is music for people who have played the guitar? Hmm no I liked it before.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      I’m a big fan of the blues scale, and I like to write metalcore songs in it (seems like an obvious choice), but blues music proper tends to be too laid back for me. I enjoy the blues-rock fusion that came later (BB King, Vaughan), but I don’t listen to it much because it doesn’t compare to the emotional intensity of metal.

  2. slenkar says:

    [ I’ve always felt compelled to crack jokes in serious moments and keep my guard up in the midst of happy times.]
    Yes im like this too, when people are sitting around talking I get the urge to do something useful,
    In serious moments I get the urge to diffuse the situation but that never goes down well so I stopped.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      >Yes im like this too, when people are sitting around talking I get the urge to do something useful,

      This used to drive me nuts in high school. We’d get done with something enjoyable, and then the “hanging out” circle would form and everyone would stand around waiting for someone else to crack a joke or start a line of conversation. I think this was instinctive “small talk” practice for developing socialites, and I feel roughly the same about it now as I did then.

Leave a Reply

