The alcohol trick worked!

And busted my highest expectations, to boot. The strep was completely gone this morning, (although I have a lingering chest cold), and morning is typically peak irritation time for me because my room is dry and I sleep on my back (so the nose is constantly dripping into the throat). I should have expected that, given the nature of the possible cure, but I wasn’t thinking much beyond applying pain to the strep culture.

While grinding away at an RPG, I started taking small sips of gin (1/4 oz., where 2 oz. is a small mouthful) every twenty minutes and letting these sit in the back of my throat. It hurt, but it was a good kind of hurt. I’m not talking the back of my mouth as in next to the soft palate, I mean down by the palatine tonsil:

This probably wouldn’t work for someone with a normal gag reflex or an aversion to clear liquors.

A side effect was that my throat became very hot, and I got a very runny nose and started sneezing a lot. Small problems. Tonight, I suppose I’ll be trying the green tea and whiskey thing (but with gin, because I already have that).

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The alcohol trick worked!

  1. Heaviside says:

    What RPG?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Final Fantasy X. I never finished it back in the day, so I started again from the beginning. From what little I’ve read about “Leviathan”, it seems like this game was supposed to be a narrative exposition of Hobbes’ ideas. It helps that the main baddie is a literal leviathan named Sin.

  2. Aeoli Pera says:

    Didn’t play it this time through. Once you figure out how to win, it’s easy.

Leave a Reply

