Frustration is the low end of depression

Analogous: associative horizon is the low end of psychoticism. But we must not conflate a personality dimension with a passing emotional phenomenon (even if the emotion can last for years). Depression (or despair, in less modern parlance) is like ennui in that it is caused by a loss of belief in one’s own agency, but it differs in that a depressed person is consistently failing to realize their desires.

A person who thinks “money will make me happy” and puts forth their best effort to become rich, and succeeds and becomes rich and happy, he will retain the sense of agency. If the same person succeeds in becoming rich but being rich fails to make him happy, he will retain the sense of agency but suffer an existential crisis (as in ennui). If the same person puts forth his best effort and fails to become rich, he will become frustrated. A consistent pattern of frustrations, as perceived subconsciously, leads to depression.

There is obviously a personality dimension that predisposes some people to become frustrated more easily, and therefore depressed more easily. Compounding the problem in the modern day is a giant edifice of lies causing immense confusion about means and ends (Ex. “I’m nice to her, why doesn’t she like me?”), which explains a great deal of the rise in major depression diagnoses (and subsequent, misled pharmaceutical intervention). I’ll call this “agent sensitivity” for now because I’m running out of time.

“Agent sensitivity” can be changed somewhat by environmental factors, mostly by exposure to all four combinations of hard work-vs-laziness leading to success-vs-failure. If a person fails to experience one of these combinations until later in life, it will be a shocking experience that they won’t understand. However, the primary environmental factor in this trait is the memory of an entire lifetime of hard work or laziness leading to success or failure, leading to formation of pattern perception. For example, a person might realize “I worked hard at math and still failed, but I worked hard at piano and became successful.” This person would be sanguine about their potential to learn guitar, which is a lot like piano, but melancholy about their potential to learn physics, which is a lot like math.

In contrast, a person who has never experienced frustration- due perhaps to extreme IQ or extreme athleticism or simply by leading a highly sheltered life- is going to receive a hard shock when they are unable to achieve success in something.

To be absolutely clear about this, depression is a phase change from frustration, rather than merely being “a lot of frustration”. It is caused by “a lot of frustration” but they are not interchangeable. This is analogous to high trait psychoticism leading to psychosis.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Frustration is the low end of depression

  1. Craig says:

    You’re one smart fella. There’s an honesty and gullibility scale that would affect this too, endemic amoung Thals predominately. Once a person realises what the external social world is, something else activates in the brain as a defence mechanism to combat the externalities. This in turn then hardens ones susceptibility to the shocks, rather then shock, it’s more a function of finding out why…

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Highly creative, mediocre intelligence. I appear intelligent because I produce a lot of ideas within the 135 IQ limit, which is far more than a low-psychoticism 150 IQ would produce, but I can produce very few 150 IQ ideas.

      • Craig says:

        I’ve no idea what my IQ is, maybe similar or lower then yours, though I do have a habit of underestimating myself, this forces me to work harder. I remember purposely flunking some of the Army entrance tests mainly the mechanical and linguistic intelligence tests, so as not to be an Officer, plus I wanted certain jobs to be spat out of the computer. If my Grandfather and Father knew this, they would of been very disappointed in me, as they always wanted me to be an Officer. A man to lead other men. Which is what would of happened if I had of been honest, though my bluntness gets me into trouble, which prevents me from rising in hierarchies generally. I can’t stand corruption, I thought there wouldn’t be much in the military, and I could always climb into the ranks of Officer… Like a joke yeah, no corruption… found it there too.

        The men in my family even have the ability to enmesh ourselves in other cultures, including the Khoisan of Southern Africa and Aboriginals of Australia. Literally we get welcomed into there mobs and even offered kinship without blood ties. They’re very brutal cultures, very real and realistic to it’s root. The Aboriginals the traditional ones even practice eugenics believe it or not. They call it “good skin” and “bad skin”, the genealogical histories are recorded by the male elders and are passed on verbally, so they give the final approval on who marries who. Not many people know these things. If an IQ test for the natural world and how to survive in it existed, the traditional Aboriginals would score off the charts. That’s why the standard IQ of 70 for Aboriginals I do not think really fits, as they are intelligent in a different manner. Very highly emotional people. They’re outbreeders, within clan mobs, patriarchal, polygamist, and r selected, with a cultural birth control mechanism of marrying off the youngest women to the oldest men. Old men less fertile, young women don’t like sex with old men, climatic factors and availability of food forced this on them. Unmarried men and women traditionally use to live in separate living areas too. Thought you might find that interesting, being they still have the spear chucker culture intake and recorded in some places. There are only 40000 full blood traditional Aboriginals left.

        In my heart I wanted to be a scientist, I had no support from my family for this path… Plus it’s too expensive with University debts, and I would not have created the loving family with my partner if I did pursue education for the love of expanding knowledge. I’m glad there are enterprising men and women who do.

        My family was all broken up, rejoined and mixed with other families, not the best experience, so in my heart of hearts I wanted a whole family. My wife comes from a similar back ground.

        Ironically, turns out I have a high linguistic ability even though I never appreciated it when growing up, I had horrible English and foreign language teachers. Though I naturally excelled at Science, Maths and Physics. I do regret not having the spark of the love for linguistics ignited in my heart. Later in life I learned my Great Grandfather was a polyglot of 8 fluent languages, I have his mini German dictionary he used to double check radio messages from WW2. Now I’ve an absolute fascination of Intelligence and Counter Intelligence. Psycholinguistic and analytical processes come naturally to me.

        Still the simple life of a farmer attracts me, you get to think a lot, yet not to many people who think like me to speak to… So that is why I talk lots on the internet… :-) Hope you don’t mind…

  2. Craig says:

    What is dualback? Is that a occipital and perioccipital?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Usually it’s occipital bulge plus parietal bulge, with no fauxcippital (trade slang for low-slung parietal). Indicates both melon and thal processing styles. Highly useful mix, problematic at times…I have an inkling that you might be one of these. Also John Patrick Conlon has diagnosed himself as such…which would indicate over-representation in these parts.

      All cases so far have had thal front, but the internet selects for T-fronts so it may be illusory.

      • Craig says:

        Fascinating.

        I know now I’m T-Front, thanks to the youtube of the Amud and Mousterian you provided. Thank you again.

        I’ll probably have to shave my head, take pictures and join NH to be absolutely sure of the T or M Back… I will describe it for you though.

        My Back… I’ve a 45′ angle that runs down to the occipital bulge, the angulation starts 2/3 maybe a little bit more, of the way back from my forehead. My skull is elongated, from a traverse plane looking down it looks mirror image to a typical Corded ware culture skull. Then from the median plane it looks like a Neanderthal occipital. My T-1 joint is very visible, and another bump comes out of the sides of that horizontally. It’s very hard to describe, and a picture paints a thousand words.

  3. Craig says:

    Brother, you should be more careful in what embedded links you provide. I don’t say this to psyche you out, it’s just not every one reading you may be as nice as you and I. If it was for me… Thank You very much. :-)

    I really like you, your writing and knowledge. I appreciate it.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      You’re welcome?

      I’m honestly unsure what you’re talking about. Maybe I’ve given away my identity somewhere? My strategic concern is only to keep it relatively difficult for n00bs and kiddies to cause trouble.

      • Craig says:

        Bingo… Your question I answer in the affirmative.

        I understand, you do a good job of making it difficult, that doesn’t phase me, it increases my inquisitiveness. The more I learn, the more eager I become to join NH.

  4. podrag says:

    Aeoli you’re beautiful man. I’m awe-struck by your insights sometimes. You’re referencing the Google-talk about the Myers Briggs right? I feel at the moment I’m going through this mental adolescence to manhood mental change… But I feel like I’ve absorbed so much info my brain is getting indegestion. I feel manic, but I suppose noticing the mania is a good start. My mind is buzzing all the time, I feel disconnected from everything as I can almost predict everything around me before it happens. Everything happens like clockwork but whenever I try to breakout the m0 demons come attack me. It’s bizarre. I feel like the smartest dumb person. BTW JPC and podrag are close.

  5. Pingback: Disambiguation of despair and depression | Aeoli Pera

  6. Pingback: Hope is the opposite of despair, depression is the opposite of optimism | Aeoli Pera

  7. Pingback: Diagnosis: spent | Aeoli Pera

  8. Pingback: Is despair due to underperforming canonical neurons? | Aeoli Pera

Leave a Reply

