How to order a habit chain

It’s frightfully simple.

1. List the tasks in the chain.
2. Note the feeling/environment most conducive to beginning each task.
3. Note the feeling/environment which tends to follow each task.
4. Optimize order for least possible friction between tasks.

Example: Let’s say that before bed, I have to go to the bathroom, brush my teeth, make tomorrow’s food, and decompress (fairy tale reading). The toilet will call when it’s ready and doesn’t appreciably affect my mood, so I just let it be. Brushing teeth is best accomplished when I’m already running in autopilot, and leaves me feeling wound up. Making food is best accomplished while wound up and it puts me in autopilot afterward. Decompression is best accomplished when I’m wound up, and leaves me feeling sleepy. These observations suggest the following chain:

n/a. Toilet
1. Food
2. Brush
3. Decompress
4. Sleep

This is a pretty labored example, because the idea is pretty simple once you get it, and you won’t have to write all of this down formally unless you’re homo sapiens-level retarded.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to order a habit chain

  1. Aeoli Pera says:

    Personally, I call this “chunking”. Same thing though, knocking out a lot of small and important stuff quickly by habit at a convenient time.

  2. Pingback: Primary factors in life design: Energy and focus | Aeoli Pera

Leave a Reply

