Midwits

Couple of thoughts about normal folks between 110 and 125 IQ.

1. The reason they aren’t tenable in a technological workforce is that they don’t know how to make decisions when resources are unambiguously scarce. Time is a scarce resource, and particularly the hours of a workday.

2. They tend to moral relativism in college simply because this reflects their inner state. They grasp it as intuitive in the same way Native Americans grasp warrior culture, or the Japanese grasp budo. Their tendency is to attune themselves to large-scale group dynamics to avoid triggering the group’s immune system, and to survive large purging events. Their highest ideal is to be a social chameleon: to seamlessly integrate into any given culture at any time.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Midwits

  1. Egyptian says:

    Can you suggest a test for scarce time management skills?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      No, I can’t. Most people just fill up their schedules until they’re slightly uncomfortable and physically tired all the time. And there’s another serious problem- the most productive, useful tasks (invent a better space heater) resist reduction to schedules and time tables and Gantt charts. So the more stuff you do in this category, the less you can observe whether your time management skills are working.

      • Edenist whackjob says:

        Aeoli, could you please do a write-up on your view of high-IQ productivity? Very curious.

        • Aeoli Pera says:

          Sorry, I’ve never actually witnessed it. I’ll defer to Cal Newport (method) and Venkatesh Rao (perspective). Somebody around here mentioned a blogger who talks a lot about properly managing engineers, but I can’t find it.

      • Edenist whackjob says:

        Can you unpack this bit a bit?

        “1. The reason they aren’t tenable in a technological workforce is that they don’t know how to make decisions when resources are unambiguously scarce. Time is a scarce resource, and particularly the hours of a workday.”

        • Aeoli Pera says:

          Sure. Midwits in that range tend to be optimists because they are by far the most successful group in America. Optimism is an abundance mindset. Someone with an abundance mindset is going to have trouble understanding that they can’t have it all.

  2. Nottuh says:

    I’m a midwit myself, and I can see point 1 applying to me, but not point 2. Moral relativism always seemed nasty to me, and I’ve been a moral universalist at least since my teen years. I can probably thank my Neanderthaloid qualities and Native American ancestry, as well as my Asperger’s for bestowing my moral inclinations upon me.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Yeah, moral relativism seems to be more of a C-front thing. Native Americans in particular seem to produce a lot of proper T-fronts. This is interesting by itself because due to early migration the NAs supposedly missed the big eugenic push that elevated European thal IQs. But IIRC the farther northwest you go in America the higher tribal IQs go, whereas South American natives seem to tend pretty crom throughout recorded history.

      • Nottuh says:

        The vast majority of my ancestry is still European, so I’m not sure that my NA ancestry would explain why I exhibit both mediocre IQ and Thallish physical traits. I guess I’ll send Polymath some pics at some point and let him figure it out. Anyway, enough about me.

        I would also expect that IQ would be higher among Natives from northern and western Canada, and perhaps also where in places of former Mesoamerican civilization. I also suspect that genetic IQ among these peoples might be much higher than their current phenotypic IQ. Who knows? I don’t think there exists any solid data on physiological intelligence correlations among NA’s, like reaction time.

  3. Aeoli Pera says:

    I’m going to generalize that- they tend to have a higher standard deviation in SSMV, so that they are more likely to be Gammas or Alphas. However, they are also more feminine in general, but for the midwit Alphas this seems to be mere accommodation for modern social constraints.

  4. Aleta Kleier says:

    Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very great post.

Leave a Reply

