Plans

I take that back, maybe I do have something to talk about today.

A couple of people know this already, but I’ve decided to finish a bachelor’s degree. Turns out that if I change to a math major, physics minor, I can do it in one semester, presuming I don’t go insane from the bullshit and kill everybody. Usually it takes about four weeks to reach full depressive mode, but I might be able to hold it off (more on that in a minute).

I made this decision about two months ago while I was studying up for trucking. During that time, I’d been struck with the urge to also read through a calc 2 for dummies book, just to brush up. Well, when I finished that one I kept the ball rolling and read some other books. During this time, I accidentally figured out how to study uninteresting material for very long periods of time in the absence of any motivation (the trucking stuff is extremely detailed and boring). Well, I eventually put two and two together and decided to get the degree instead of immediately going to trucking school. Might still do that, we’ll see. I’m gonna try my hand at the first actuary exam in September and see if that isn’t an option.

It might seem incoherent to do this sort of thing in the middle of Gulag 3: The Gulagening; Return of the Gulag, but there’s a good reason for it. As is, white people are the new Jews, which means you can’t get tied down in a single country unless you’re the Bolshevik currently in charge. Fact is, most white folks who aren’t complete assholes (doing the executions) or narcissistic shape-shifters (snitching to the executioners) are going to have to flee their home countries as the pogroms become institutions. If a civil war breaks out in the states, which I doubt (average testosterone around here is a joke, and the IQs are worse), the main thing would be simple mobility. But fleeing across national lines is a different business, and I understand that most countries distinctly prefer skilled refugees (with credentials), the modern Western suicide cult being the exception that proves this rule.

Now, about the bullshit. Having done some thinking about this, I’ve decided that I have an absurdly low tolerance for bullshit. Wasn’t always that way (I used to do bullshit like it was my life’s work, which it was) but it doesn’t seem like it’s going away either. It’s like diabetes or something, where too much makes the brain go outta whack. Specifically, I get very neurotic, as in too much conscientiousness, and start obsessing over the details and fail to actually get anything done. I drive at precisely one under the speed limit and make lists to keep track of where all my clothing is. It’s absurd. You know those things that say “read this and check the box that says I Agree”? When it gets really bad, I read those. What if I didn’t agree? Then I’d be lying to a computer, which apparently is something neurotic Aeoli thinks is a big deal.

To my mind, there are two distinct categories of bullshit: compliance testing (aka shit testing) and normal bullshit.

Compliance testing in the modern world serves the purpose of winnowing out the weirdos who aren’t deluded retards. Want to get on a plane? Well, 80% of your countrymen think it’s reasonable to expect every now and then to be legally raped by a bored TSA employee who’s between prison sentences for illegal rape. Which puts a new perspective on the mere requirement to sign a non-compete agreement to achieve the mutually beneficial (supposedly) economic arrangement known as a “job”. If you don’t like the monopoly, then you should shop on a different planet. Another example, the WordPress folks decided to put a giant rainbow in my site admin panel. Now I have to decide if I’m just going to sit around and put up with that. Who has time to come up with this shit?

Normal bullshit is the stuff that makes sense in a convoluted way that reduces to MPAI, but is still bullshit. Examples: random drug testing, SWATing, taxes, megachurches, unmarked police cars, the entire Talmud, every word in every disclaimer ever written, the ontological argument for the existence of God, TV commercials, the consumer-driven increase in my workweek due to supply and demand, and that chime that goes off to tell me to buckle my seatbelt. Are you my car or my fucking mother? Maybe people who don’t wear their seat buckles should only get one chance. But I digress, it’s a bad habit. If only a benevolent engineer could install a chime in my computer so I wouldn’t digress!

There’s a pretty easy way to blow off steam from normal bullshit, which is to get drunk early and often and complain about it on the internet. So that’s my plan for that: three angry posts per day, you betcha, September to December. Not Mondays, because fuck you. I’ll be spending my conscientiousness projects on the actuary exam, which requires Real Actual Skillz* and I already know the material for the classes I’ll be taking so I’ll hopefully be flying through the homework rather than sitting around nitpicking. That leaves the compliance testing bullshit, which occupies the majority of my interactions with universities. For example, since I left they have added a general education requirement called “learning beyond the classroom” which can be satisfied by taking a class, in a classroom. I shit you not- I couldn’t have made that shit up in one thousand years of staring directly into the eyes of Cthulhu.

The only thing I have found that works to keep compliance testing from scope-creeping into everything like the Zerg is to have a prioritized to-do list, completed by scheduling a habitual PowerDoro time block every day, followed by guitar practice to cure dissociation. Guitar is ideally followed by lifting, because lifting restores the mental alignment lost whenever I drift off into the world of musical possibilities.

*Real Actual Skillz © 2015 Aeoli Pera

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Plans

  1. > a prioritized to-do list, completed by scheduling a habitual PowerDoro time block every day
    I used to use the Magic Dot system(http://blog.sethroberts.net/2012/07/04/magic-dots-quasi-reinforcement-helps-get-things-done/). Just anything to get started and build momentum and get into a zone.

    Anyways good luck with getting back into school. It is hell. You still have most of summer to prepare. =)

  2. Russell says:

    “Another example, the WordPress folks decided to put a giant rainbow in my site admin panel. Now I have to decide if I’m just going to sit around and put up with that. ”

    I dumped my two wordpress blogs. Low traffic, but I had them for nearly a decade each. When I deleted them, I informed WP that it was because their rainbow in the fricken admin page.

    I haven’t decided where to go next, but WP has lost my business. I’ll have to kill my wordpress.com account next.

    “I couldn’t have made that shit up in one thousand years of staring directly into the eyes of Cthulhu.”

    Wait until you work for a big company as an employee. The inanity there is just as looney. Recently, there was a big push for everyone to attend a reducing stress seminar and balancing work and life. Sounds annoying, but not too bad, right? Then they scheduled these seminar during lunch.

    So the one hour an employee has to get away from the building and have a small chance of unwinding a little, they took away in order to tell the employees they need to get away from work and unwind a little.

    I skipped them. I signed up, of course, but then I didn’t go. I went to lunch instead.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      >I dumped my two wordpress blogs. Low traffic, but I had them for nearly a decade each. When I deleted them, I informed WP that it was because their rainbow in the fricken admin page.

      It appears to have worked. The rainbow is gone. Still, they’ve “shown their colors”, so to speak. It is only a matter of time now.

      >Recently, there was a big push for everyone to attend a reducing stress seminar and balancing work and life. Sounds annoying, but not too bad, right? Then they scheduled these seminar during lunch.
      So the one hour an employee has to get away from the building and have a small chance of unwinding a little, they took away in order to tell the employees they need to get away from work and unwind a little.
      I skipped them. I signed up, of course, but then I didn’t go. I went to lunch instead.

      That story is perfect.

  3. Pingback: Primary factors in life design: Energy and focus | Aeoli Pera

Leave a Reply

