This is basically what I do

Life sucks, posting sucks, blah blah.

This is essentially the way I think about questions of ethics, except that I allow for a dependent variable to be maximized at all times, roughly described as “divine command/will”. Basically, the question is whether my actions make God happy, and everything else is context and details, which are subject to probabilistic reasoning and such.

I wouldn’t call this a “Fourier” transform though. That’s a specific sort of transform, and it would make as much sense to call it an “ethical Laplace transform”.

Life is an industrial process for souls. I am a particle in a centrifuge. My sole purpose in life is to resist the centrifugal force of materialism (noumena) in a way that makes me closer to God. Previously I said that the Bible is a Rorschach test. This is true, and I would extend that to say the Gospel is a litmus test.

I came up with something like a koan, maybe two weeks ago. It was the simple revelation that every moment, we get to decide whether to open our hearts and receive God’s love, or not, no matter the details of our circumstances. This reframes everything into perfect perspective, and has significantly improved my mental health. This is because there is no possible response to opening one’s heart to God’s love except gratitude, and thankfulness is the secret to happiness. Ever since, I’ve found myself more and more slipping into an extended state of creative flow.

Koanic said “I can say from personal experience that the opposite of fear is not love but flow – an intense state of focus on mechanics without distracting emotional coloration.” So Paul was right:

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is basically what I do

  1. Pingback: Daily Linkage – August 20, 2015 | The Dark Enlightenment

  2. Gosh. Some day I should write a book about how I reconcile this sort of stuff. After I’ve written the book about the existential nature of information technology and economics/government/metaphysics as an information technology problem. But then I just want to sleep and go on a nice walk in the woods and then get coffee and then meditate and then I have to explain my business idea in terms of soul-sucking analogies for investors the writing never materialises. Mmmm…

  3. mobiuswolf says:

    Just great. I’m about as blocked as Lake Mead.

Leave a Reply

