Here’s some music

Sorry no post etc.

Supposedly it’s djent. Sounds like screamo with euphonic melodic riffs on top, but when you look at the tabs it seems to have very strong elements of thrash in the rhythm guitar. Surprisingly intricate and difficult- in these terms, I’d say Protest the Hero > ERRA > Born of Osiris, but only just so.

Aesthetically quite similar to We Came As Romans with some Misery Signals mixed in, but with much more local variation.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Here’s some music

  1. Russell says:

    Three minutes into it and I was hooked. Thanks!

  2. ahumblebum says:

    an oldie but a goodie.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      This sounds like the stuff Doompony likes.

      • Edenist whackjob says:

        Bit odd that you are a metalhead but don’t know one of the classic bands. Could be a lot of low-hanging fruit there.

      • Edenist whackjob says:

        Speaking of things-I-know-that-I-assume-you-to-know-but-which-might-not-be-known-by-you, have you checked out Gwern’s site?:

        http://www.gwern.net/

        Wealth of personal science in the style of Seth Roberts.

      • Aeoli Pera says:

        >Bit odd that you are a metalhead but don’t know one of the classic bands. Could be a lot of low-hanging fruit there.

        My development is generally very disproportionate in every area.

        1) You might also find there’s a lot of psychology I don’t know, even though I have extraordinary insight in that area.

        2) I play guitar reasonably well but I can’t hold a conversation with guitarists because they all want to talk gear and I don’t know a thing about effects, timbre, none of it. I can’t name five guitar makers off the top of my head. I also can’t play any chords except E, A, Em, and Am.

      • Aeoli Pera says:

        >Speaking of things-I-know-that-I-assume-you-to-know-but-which-might-not-be-known-by-you, have you checked out Gwern’s site?:

        No, but I will. It’s always nice to find somebody who can think.

  3. Edenist whackjob says:

    I’ve had something happen to me recently, still trying to figure out. Could be Mike Mew facial epigenetics, could be Phenibut, could be talking to my Dad about some childhood stuff, could be relearning how to belly breath.

    Point is that my anxiety is way down, my aggressiveness is up, I’m much more apathetic about most things, and my AH is down.

    Nevertheless, I should try to keep up posting here.

    • Edenist whackjob says:

      More:

      * Libido is way down, pretty much non-existent

      * Same with appetite. No drive to eat, and food doesn’t give any pleasure.

      * Can drink lots of coffee, usually this would give me psychosis (delusions, paranoia, etc).

      It may be that I have transitioned from a hypomanic state to a depressive one. But I don’t feel depressed in a horrible way, really. I just feel apathetic about everything. Or maybe that’s actually a class of depression?

      I suspect the appetite-libido thing is linked. Something to do with leptin. Maybe my body finally clued on to that I am fat, whereas before it was too occupied with the constant anxiety. I do seem to be losing fat (and muscle, so mTOR activation is probably down as well). Could just be not eating properly, though :)

    • Edenist whackjob says:

      Warning to people: don’t do Phenibut, the withdrawal is not worth it.

  4. Edenist whackjob says:

    Why do we give preference to someone’s face front? Ie why does Koanic get to free-ride on being a Thal because he has deep sockets?

    Try to think of Koanic as a Melon, who just happens to have pathological truth-drive. Think of Koanic as Donald Trump with honesty. How does that feel? Much more slippery, no?

    Conversely, try to think of Robert Greene as a Thal who just has a more nuanced view of reality. Or a Thal with a bit of selfishness and social acuity. How does that feel? Much less slippery, no?

  5. Edenist whackjob says:

    Social anxiety:

    It seems to me that a lot of social anxiety is about where to place one’s eyes. Nervous people have eyes that are darting around, is a common trope.

    If you can’t fix your eyes on a point, if you are constantly darting around, you feel on unsure ground, you feel shaky.

    If you have social anxiety, notice how you feel the next time you pass someone on the street and you get anxious. You probably get a shot of energy in your stomach region, but you can’t channel it toward aggressiveness so you feel weak. You don’t know where to put your eyes, so you dart around or you look down. You never get anxiety from people you know, correct?

  6. Edenist whackjob says:

    Functional fitness (Crossfit, stuff like that) is kind of feminine. It’s all about doing things in the correct way, being part of a snobby clique, knowing more than the other guy, doing the right exercises, etc.

    Bro-training is masculine. Ie people who just go to gym and throw iron around, and do a lot of work on their guns. It’s based on instinctive love of the activity, kind of anti-intellectual.

    For an example of an ultra-bro, who IS also kind of an intellectual, take Jamie Lewis: http://chaosandpain.blogspot.se/

    He’s always admonishing his readers to give up their fancy brand-name training routines and just train.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      I see some value in what you’re saying, although I prefer to put forth the same sentiment in more precise terms like “Lifting weights is 49% diet and rest, 49% consistency, and 2% knowledge. The program doesn’t matter.”

      I think most people get glazed eyes from that sort of description, so “shut up and train” probably works better.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      None of those things demonstrate that Crossfit is not feminine (except possibly socket depth) but I’d agree that it is not feminine based on my limited experience.

  7. Edenist whackjob says:

    Something introverts do: recall social interactions, with a negative bias toward self.

    So, if I take a chance with a social group and they reject me, I will go over the interaction and try to find peace with it. A lot of personal development is simply learning the CBT tools to reframe and put things in perspective.

    It’s just something that I do that I take for granted as a common human experience. But I wonder if everyone does it? Do extroverts just plow through life and forget all the bumps in the road?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Generally, that is correct. Extraverts are characterized by low anxiety, with psychopaths at the extreme having a complete absence of anxiety. Introverts are characterized by high anxiety, and the reflection period is generally how we down-regulate it. An intellectually honest introvert will craft mental tools and systems that will let him have a reasonable chance of success the next time (which is one way of regulating anxiety). A dishonest introvert will craft silly fantasy narratives where he’s the hero, and the extreme case of this is a narcissist a la Anonymous Conservative.

  8. Edenist whackjob says:

    Tolerating that other people are mean to you is masculine and gerontous.

    Being deeply offended and distraught when someone is evil to you is kind of innocent, possibly feminine but can’t be sure. It’s something I have a problem with myself. How can people be mean to ME? It doesn’t make sense. If you don’t get an answer, you start to suspect supernatural evil on a subconscious level. Ie people are demons. Hey presto, social anxiety.

    I think the antidote is either stoicism of Marcus Aurelius’ variant:

    “When you wake up in the morning, tell yourself: the people I deal with today will be meddling, ungrateful, arrogant, dishonest, jealous and surly. They are like this because they can’t tell good from evil. But I have seen the beauty of good, and the ugliness of evil, and have recognized that the wrongdoer has a nature related to my own – not of the same blood and birth, but the same mind, and possessing a share of the divine. And so none of them can hurt me. No one can implicate me in ugliness. Nor can I feel angry at my relative, or hate him. We were born to work together like feet, hands and eyes, like the two rows of teeth, upper and lower. To obstruct each other is unnatural. To feel anger at someone, to turn your back on him: these are unnatural.”

    OR it’s to actually start see yourself as non-innocent. People are mean to you because you are a bit mean yourself. I think what’s highly masculine men do. Trump doesn’t cry when someone is mean to him because he’s a meanie himself.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Good quote.

      >Tolerating that other people are mean to you is masculine and gerontous.

      I think so too. “That’s life.”

      >Being deeply offended and distraught when someone is evil to you is kind of innocent, possibly feminine but can’t be sure.

      I think this oversimplifies, because a masculine, gerontous person will often be driven to act in response to the offense. (With these guys usually such an “offense” involves money somehow.)

      I’m not particularly such, but here’s an example: Yesterday I was forced to spend $80 to rent an e-book which I can only read on a crappy third-party website that hurt my eyes, because it was the edition with the correct homework problems. I actually have that exact same book, but the homework numbers were changed around by a cynical publisher that is making buku bucks because I’m forced to rent the privilege of doing homework. That shit gets to me.

  9. Edenist whackjob says:

    Women’s power over men: the power to make them fantasize.

    Men can be very rational about most things, but when it comes to mating, all bets are off.

    Women turn men into fools.

    • Edenist whackjob says:

      Sometimes we recognize effects like “having an excess of young men without mates in a country is a bad thing” but we don’t REALLY recognize their sheer power. We go “haha, that’s funny”, we don’t go “oh, shit, that shit could wreck a civilization”.

      If we had the latter reaction, a lot of things would be much more scary.

      • Aeoli Pera says:

        >If we had the latter reaction, a lot of things would be much more scary.

        R-selection cannot abide procreation-attenuating anxiety in any form. Only the survivors reproduce, and it is basically random. So the survivors tend not to worry much.

    • Edenist whackjob says:

      A mental image to counteract women:

      Imagine them as kind of plant-siren, a half-rotten meat-eating vegetable-thing with an oozing hole at the bottom, out of which grows a beautiful meat-mimicking thing designed to take over men’s visual processing centers. Oooh, beauty, must acquire! I’ll do anything!

      Kind of like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpHtJr3l0zU&index=6&list=ELiY_FN-Yxz0s (not sure if it works, as they don’t allow me to watch it because geo-IP wrong – tl;dr it’s human-mimicking plant creatures)

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      >Women turn men into fools.

      Oldest joke in the book. Funny thing is, mating is the only thing women are rational about.

Leave a Reply

