Cool dream I had

Normally I’d just try to pull the useful elements out of this, but it’s a pretty cool little story by itself. I blame recent Koaniterica for the weirdness :-). Usually there isn’t much talking in my dreams (as in my real life)- this one is notable for having around 50 words that I was able to recall with confidence (as opposed to, say, three). (Okay, one last sidetrack: lately in my dreams I’ve become obsessed with trying to remember the names of things within the dream. One time it was “metronome” and another time it was the frontman’s name from A Day to Remember, and I only succeeded in remembering it was “Jeremy Something”.)

I was parked on the side of the highway on an oceanside hill (in California maybe?) discussing the US space program with a couple of other guys, one of whom was saying it’s never been stronger and the other saying it was at its strongest sometime in the past (maybe the 70s, this was unclear). I wasn’t taking a side, but I blithely remarked that if our rocket scientists were any good we wouldn’t have to worry about the giant meteor hurtling toward earth, and pointed at the chunk of rock blazing through the atmosphere. At this point I realized I ought to be alarmed, and noticed people streaming past as they fled for their lives. The meteor itself was actually the floating Kingdom of Zeal from Chrono Trigger.

Even though I understood there was no way that running would help my chances, instinct kicked in when the meteoric city hit the water about ten miles off the coast, and I started running the opposite way too. Now, at this point the big occipital simulation powers were obviously not up to the task of dreaming up a realistic meteor strike. Instead of a flash of light, a blast wave, and then a tidal wave (what my rational brain expects), the tectonic plate I was on tipped up until it was more than vertical and dropped us all into the churning water below. My drop was 500 feet and I died. The part of my brain that was born an actuary reasoned that even with minuscule chances of survival, at least one person probably survived miraculously, so my perspective shifted to that unlikely survivor in order to continue the story. It was like when you’re playing guns as kids and you die and say “I’m another guy now”.

Well, it turned out that this new perspective was a 10-year-old boy who was now swimming toward the only dry ground within miles: the Kingdom of Zeal. It was now floating in the water, not destroyed but somewhat the worse for wear. When I got there I entered a small commune of children around my age, a few of them just entering puberty. There were a bare few adults (apparently they’d been depopulated by the crash), but they were a little scary and we only interacted with the leader. The leader was a charming woman who took care of us, saying we could play as much as we wanted and there were only two rules to stay in her good graces: 1) “Drink your Ovaltine” (in the dream this was a nutrient-rich slurry and the only thing we ate), and 2) “Provide us with your seed”.

Now, this latter rule creeped me out. Here was a fully grown adult woman talking about a ten-year-old’s “seed” (weird) and saying that “we” wanted it for some reason (double weird). Apparently two other kids were also thinking along the same lines, and we decided to bug out. But it turned out by now that the other adults were actually guards trying to keep us there, even though they were trying not to let on so we’d think the whole thing was fun and games. We hatched a plan to escape while pretending to play hide-and-seek (apparently there was hope of escaping to somewhere now). It worked, but as I was climbing a fence with one of my compatriots we realized the third was still hiding as part of the facade. The dream ended as we wrestled with the question of whether to go back for him.


I’m still working out how to interpret all of that exactly, figuring out how much is crazeoli, how much is just dreaming about stuff I’ve been thinking about recently (like Chrono Trigger) and how much is completely meaningless association. Typically if there’s anything interesting to be found, it’s in the abstract form of the plot, and I definitely see a hint of something in this one. Also, Ovaltine is obviously of the devil, I think that much is clear :-P.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in blather. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cool dream I had

  1. podrag says:

    You have to build your Linux system. You can’t just be a hacked Mac/Windows. This is God telling you that you have to Linux. As a hacked Mac user I would also recommend this course of action. You can bet on Buckminster Fuller’s vision of a Synergetic mankind realising its true inner nature, or you can do your own thing. I don’t have a choice really, I’m yoked to the ship for all my talk. You, however, have a choice.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      >This is God telling you that you have to Linux.

      His prophet Bill Gates reminds me every three years or so :-).

      >I don’t have a choice really, I’m yoked to the ship for all my talk. You, however, have a choice.

      Very little of what I end up doing tends to be what I’d decided to do. Regardless, I will keep plodding and trying to do good stuff in the meantime (and CONSCIENTIOUSNESS of course, blech).

  2. mentally ill jackass says:

    Sounds like a prophecy that Toth made, that atlantis will rise again will actually happen because Zeal ressembles Atlantis alot.
    Maybe Atlantis was a thal-melon civilization.

    http://chrono.wikia.com/wiki/Zeal
    “It was home to the Enlightened Ones, and was the center of art, culture, technology, and most of all, magic. The Kingdom is comprised of four islands that flow above the continent and seas. Only magic-wielding folk reside within. ”

    “There is a strong prejudice here against non-magical beings. ” (!!!)

    “A running trend in the Enlightened Ones is the color of their hair and/or clothing: purple. Especially documented in Schala, Janus, Queen Zeal, and even Alfador, many other Enlightened Ones sport the rare hair color. In human color psychology, purple is also associated with royalty and nobility (stemming from classical antiquity when Tyrian purple was only affordable to the elites), which lends explanation to this trend. Additionally, Enlightened Ones wear fur of an array of colors. Likely, this can be attributed to the Ice Age present in their era, as well as the altitude at which their kingdom resides. “

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      I love the username. Catches the spirit of the place.

      >Sounds like a prophecy that Toth made, that atlantis will rise again will actually happen because Zeal ressembles Atlantis alot.

      Nice, I hadn’t heard of that.

      >Maybe Atlantis was a thal-melon civilization.

      My impression is that the writers of antiquity divided men into three categories: leaders, artisans, and commoners, and Atlantis was a city of leaders. But I can’t remember where I heard that, so I’d have to dig.

      The note about hair color is interesting for the visual character design theory I’m slowly piecing together. Note also that in My Little Pony the unicorn aristocrats are the ones with magical powers (some more than others). Doompony used to have an infographic about that but I can’t find it.

  3. Koanic says:

    It was a shared dream with two other real human occ “kids”. The travelers wanted you to stay forever. They need Adam’s flesh to build a bridge into this world.

    Pomegranates and underworld; lust and legacy.

    One kid didn’t make it. He probably woke up with a few more claw marks in his psyche.

    You may be wondering… am I serious? Well. Were you?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      >It was a shared dream with two other real human occ “kids”. The travelers wanted you to stay forever. They need Adam’s flesh to build a bridge into this world.

      By shared dream you mean others had the same dream? Who were they?

      >Pomegranates and underworld; lust and legacy.
      One kid didn’t make it. He probably woke up with a few more claw marks in his psyche.
      You may be wondering… am I serious? Well. Were you?

      I can’t think of any interpretation of that question where the answer isn’t yes. So, yes.

      • Koanic says:

        Whether OP was a shared dream is highly speculative; whether it was a Traveler dream is less so. I suppose the long fall might have been the transition mechanic sucking three slumbering occipital humans out of divergent plotlines and into a shared space. Perhaps your Chrono Trigger exegesis gazed in a direction where things look back.

        On the subject of dream contagion:

        It is rare for me to remember dreams, and last night’s dream was unprecedented in several ways. It was an MT-adapted version of themes present in the OP. (Closer in some ways to melon Traveler dreams.)

        It occurred either close to wakeup or during shallow disturbed sleep, I suspect. It began pleasantly; the unprecedentedly detailed and original seduction of a virgin. Mid-coitus, her natural and appropriate facial expressions transformed into a dead blankly-robotic inhuman ironic grin. This was the facade dropping, similar to the “give us your seed” line above.

        I slapped the face; it took the blow like a ragdoll and turned back immediately; no change except a wider close-lipped smile. Rather than continue to play at a disadvantage within the plotline, I said, “Jesus Christ,” shattering the dreamscape. Attempts at reinvasion were met by two or three repetitions. After that the subconscious equivalent of rationality zero returned to stability – something like the Matrix’s clean room.

        Such intrusions as a nuisance. As soon as the Name is remembered, the contest ends. The fear and suffering generated inbetween are not particularly great.

        Other possibly Traveler-influenced dreams:

        #1: Abruptly, a shadow woman stands over me, kneels gracefully, and cuts my throat. I experience no pain due to shock, but realistic rapid exsanguination. I awake with the phrase, “No, Mom,” on my lips – hellooo Freud! Fear banished with the Name. Conclusion: Amusing and creative, and now have some reference experience of a particular method of death, which reduces fear of it. Please do kill me that way; every nursing home patient suffers infinitely worse.

        #2: Whilst living in indiscriminate fornication, I am examined from overhead by a serpentine being that I instinctively sense is demonic. The sensation was like Peter Meredith’s second encounter. Our gazes lock in dreamland; I fare poorly. As I begin to awaken into the physical world, it retreats in an extradimensional manner. Its approach and retreat were linearly head-on, so I never saw the saggital plane of its body. However, the direction of its entrance and egress left the impression of an axis outside 3d space: “Inney” and “outey”. This visitation actually produced a significant change in my behavior. I did not take it casually or come off victorious. Unlike the others, it occurred many years ago, yet I still remember it.

        The only other similar dream I recall was a childhood nightmare that appeared silly pretty immediately. This was a Biblical combat dream, and it taught me dream combat.

        Jesus said that if one gazes upon a woman with lust, one has already committed adultery with her in one’s heart. I think he spoke of the spiritual realm, and of Travelers this is particularly true.

        Secretive masturbation is a physically beta act. Non-historical erotic fantasization is a spiritually dangerous one.

      • mentally ill jackass says:

        I had a dream involving seeds and kids the night you had this dream.

        Except that in this dream nobody told me that they wanted my seeds and it was literal seeds and it was very different. I was homeless and about to depart from home but it was pretty weird and kind of like in a TV show. I had the mentality, stress level and preoccupations of a homeless guy and laying before my feet were various fruits and seeds. A few of them I could bring with me to make my chances of survival higher. There were green and black seeds and I picked up the green ones. I couldn’t bring them all because they wouldn’t fit in my pocket.
        There were structures around me that you wouldn’t except would be around a homeless guy.
        The various groups doing stuff around me weren’t only made up of children but also teenagers.

        It was sort of like a TV show and it semt there were other groups of kids too.
        When I picked up some of the green seeds my big brother commented that those would expire soon or that they weren’t a good choice or stated a reason why.. Or something like that.

      • mentally ill jackass says:

        Before I actually could run away I had to wait for the kind of sliding door in front of me to open.

        It was at the feet of those sliding doors that there were fruits and seeds of all sorts.
        That’s why I said it semmed like a TV show, but I didn’t in my dream feel what i’d expect myself to feel if I was in a TV show.
        The only things that make me say that it was like in a TV show are the fact that there were other groups of kids, the metallic structures all around me mixed with the wilderness, some sort of metallic house where there were lockers and the fact that at the start of this dream I was behind sliding doors and food was ready at my feet.
        But I definitely was as stressed as you would expect a homeless guy to be and definitely had similar preoccupations.

        The dream ended with me trying to make a fire or learn how to by stricking a rock with another rock.

        • Aeoli Pera says:

          >The only things that make me say that it was like in a TV show are the fact that there were other groups of kids, the metallic structures all around me mixed with the wilderness, some sort of metallic house where there were lockers and the fact that at the start of this dream I was behind sliding doors and food was ready at my feet.

          Believe it or not, that made sense to me. The structures mixed in with wilderness particularly, because that brings to mind obstacle courses and Survivor, that sort of thing.

          Plants in front of sliding doors makes sense. If you aren’t picky about having a neat house, that’s a good place for them to get sunlight.

          The TV show feeling suggests very strong metacognition to me. Sort of a neurotic self-consciousness. Or if we’re going with the Traveler interpretation, it could mean you felt them watching you. (Might wanna memorize some Bible in case that idea follows you into dreamspace. I wanted to float it anyway, but apparently this sort of thing is catching.)

    • mentally ill jackass says:

      Last note: As opposite to the other kids, I was alone and not in a group.

      • mentally ill jackass says:

        Holy shit, too many typos in the post above. Ignore it I went way too fast.

        I am re-posting it but corrected because it’s un-understandable

        Another thing that influenced me & made me say that it was like in those TV show is the fact that I also felt as well like it was some sort of game.

        I just realized after a bit of introspection that much of what I said in my previous posts are my interpretations of what I felt.
        .
        It think that it felt as if it was a game because before the sliding door opened I was telling myself the same things I have the habit of telling myself when i’m playing a competitive game.
        Things like, I have to make sure that I manage to do everything better than everyone.

        It was definitely a shared dream.

      • Aeoli Pera says:

        Sorry, I can interpret dreams sometimes but I got nothing for this one.

      • Aeoli Pera says:

        Sometimes I can interpret dreams but I got nothing today. Sorry.

    • Koanic says:

      I should add that the serpentine dream ripped me from sleep as no other before or since. It was less like having a dream prior to awakening, and more like being awakened by a dream. The passive voice doesn’t do it justice; it was a submarine’s emergency breach. And the image of serpentine retreat, across impossible distance, in a non-existent direction, continued before my open eyes.

      There are, of course, purely materialistic explanations.

  4. I had some fucked up dreams last night. Anyone else?

Leave a Reply

