With apologies

Responding to a comment by eikos

I don’t know. As I get older, I become more and more convinced that there really aren’t any choices between Christianity and the “way of the world”, i.e. slavery, caste, inquisitions, empire-building, endless wars, etc. There really is no harnessing the evil heart to produce good ends, no matter how clever the system.

Here’s how I figure: Jesus gave us a comprehensive political program for Christian communities within larger communities, which will always be at odds with everything else because the program is universalist and prescriptive, though nonviolent. We generally ignore this because it’s considered impractical. It’s the way of the world to persecute the church, but this only strengthens and spreads it.

In the eschaton, John prophesied that the way of the world will win this struggle and completely dominate the church under a perfectly designed program of containment, under Satan’s personal oversight. At this point, Jesus will return to destroy this perfect system and set up his own, again under his personal oversight.

So that’s how I figure nowadays.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With apologies

  1. Aeoli, quick question:

    How can I know that my wishes are in accordance with Christ’s teachings?

    I have some major ingenopathy guilt hang-ups around my lifestyle design ambitions. Ie I want to work less, things like that. Can’t tell if OK with Christianity or motivated by vice. I feel my soul is dying in a corporate job, but at the same time I DO have somewhat of a lackluster work ethic (or rather, inability to focus). So, every time I want to take action on my escape plan, it feels like I am sinning.

    Same thing with other schemes of mine. The limiter right now is not possibility but morals. So I need to be set free from guilt. Any thoughts?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Sure, why not.

      >How can I know that my wishes are in accordance with Christ’s teachings?

      Via familiarity with said teachings. Reading comprehension is enough- do as little interpretation as possible.

      I don’t believe the Bible is 100% literally true, but I don’t think you’d go far wrong if you did believe that. Humility is key because much of it is truly beyond our ken.

      >I have some major ingenopathy guilt hang-ups around my lifestyle design ambitions. Ie I want to work less, things like that. Can’t tell if OK with Christianity or motivated by vice.

      You sound as if you already know it’s simple ingenopathic dysfunction, but you don’t trust this intuition.

      I prescribe getting more heavily involved with your home church, presuming they still have those in Sweden. “If a man chooses not to work, neither shall he eat.” I feel my soul is dying in a corporate job, but at the same time I DO have somewhat of a lackluster work ethic (or rather, inability to focus).

      Probably both are true, and the former feeds into the latter.

      >So, every time I want to take action on my escape plan, it feels like I am sinning.

      This is why I prescribe supporting the church more. Once you get involved, you’ll get a feel for whether it needs your time, your leadership, or your money or what-have-you.

      Honestly, I think what the church genuinely needs right now is people who are willing to tell the truth and drive out all the nice liars.

      >So I need to be set free from guilt.

      Obviously I can’t do that, and anyone who claims they can is claiming to be God in the flesh.

Leave a Reply

