How to create a Gamma (response)

Delta Man summarized the process over at Alpha Game.

Gamma is characterized by ego and false belief. Here’s how I think you make a Gamma:

1. Have problem.
2. Problem causes pain.
3. Treat pain with delusion.
4. Delusion forms identity.
5. Identity feeds ego.
6. Ego seeks prestige.
7. Prestige-seeking causes problem.
8. Goto line 1.

Line 7 is because underlying problems never actually get fixed, which causes error cascades. So it’s like shooting for a regional title after losing at the state level because you’ve convinced yourself the loss was bogus.

The problem is that this emotional strategy works in the short term. It’s like when a person becomes addicted to gambling because they won early on.

I believe Delta Man is describing the process of making an Omega, more or less, which is a state of despair called learned helplessness that is induced by “random” punishments. Typically this is due to miscommunication of some kind—an authority figure uses punishment to correct a behavior, but for some reason the Omega doesn’t make the correction. Often, they don’t mentally make the intended connection between the punishment and the behavior, and after many attempted corrections the punishments are seen as uncaring or malicious. I gave an example of this in the cognitive empathy post. It’s also possible that the Omega is unable to correct the behavior, like when the bank assesses punitive fees when I don’t pay my student loans.

However, it can also be a matter of simple abuse. Here’s an example of one of those:

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How to create a Gamma (response)

  1. Wog slayer says:

    Is it a gamma trait to hate any girls who like you? Is it omega to deliberately convince females to ignore you? Does being an absolute asexual without any desire for sex reduce oneself to omega when many girls are drawn to him?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      I would normally put down legit asexuality as a form of Omega. The combination with hate is weird because the old adage is correct, there’s a fine line between love and hate. It indicates that someone matters to you somehow. So…more precisely, are we talking about contempt, disgust, anger, frustration, or what?

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      This is true. But I’m hesitant to make the call here before unweaving the paradox between hate and disinterest. I suspect he’s talking about some form of disgust (in which case, he’d be somewhere along the Omega-Sigma axis).

  2. Aeoli Pera says:

    Some of the more emo metalcore I listen to probably qualifies, but it turns out nobody around here likes screamy music :-(.

    We Came As Romans are pretty Gamma. I liked them a lot when I couldn’t make out what they were singing, but once my ear adjusted it became a slog.

  3. Wog slayer says:

    “So…more precisely, are we talking about contempt, disgust, anger, frustration, or what?”
    Hate as I wish them to go away and never return. Extinction. Exile. Dissolution. Oblivion.

    • KakakaraKek says:

      I know those feelz Wog Slayer. Socio-Sexual Self-Sabotage?
      I also seem to elicit an almost murderous competitive drive in males.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      “Hate as I wish them to go away and
      never return. Extinction. Exile.
      Dissolution. Oblivion.”

      Yeah, that’s hate all right. Remind me not to doubt your powers of description.

      I’d put you in the Omega box but it’d take a shoehorn.

  4. Wog slayer says:

    “Loser narcissist, not irrationally confident winner narcissist.”
    Last time I checked all narcissists had irrational levels of confidence.

  5. Wog slayer says:

    “I’d put you in the Omega box but it’d take a shoehorn.”
    The only problem with that is the number of girls who tried to get my phone number/home location/hair strands/date availability is around 15 [10-20 I forgot the count]. This is what is confusing. I apparently had more than the alpha average:
    http://alphagameplan.blogspot.com/2011/03/socio-sexual-hierarchy.html
    High school for me was like a harem anime, only with the protagonist being completely devoid of any want for the whole thing and wanting it to end. I actually dislike human contact in general, so the constant attention was a hammer to the face. There were actually times that I wanted to be ugly so they didn’t come and try tying my hair.

  6. Heaviside says:

    I think any kind of grand over-arching psychological theory which is supposed to explain everything and which is founded upon putting people into categories is bound to fail. All of the interesting people are unique.

  7. Wog slayer says:

    “What is a harem anime? Sounds nifty.”
    Its what it sounds like.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harem_(genre)

  8. Boneflour says:

    Gamma: “Those fools can’t understand how awesome I am! I didn’t lose, the rules are written for morons. I’ll show them, I’ll show them all!”

    Omega: “Why do I suck so much?”

    The difference is delusion vs despair.

Leave a Reply

