Superego is worldview

This is something I thought up while wondering about Whackjob’s comment about the Greek conception of man as animal, rational, and thumotic. I realized that thumos maps to Freud’s “ego” (spirit, action) and the rest fell into place.

So I now conceptualize the superego as a set of mental categories for making sense of sensory stimuli. It’s heavily concerned with turning sensory “things” into objects in space, and not running one’s physical body into them. (We actually have hardware in our eyes that sharpens the appearance of edges of objects in space. It’s impossible for us to perceive “real” incoming visual data, which would look significantly more flattened, without this preprocessing.)

In more abstract terms, cultural stimuli are perceived as “rule” objects, which the superego is concerned with following to avoid collisions. In contrast, the ego (spirit) is concerned with asserting new rules via creative action.

So my large-scale psych map looks like this:

Perception -> worldview -> emotional reaction -> rational redirection of impulse
OR
Perception -> superego -> id -> ego.

I’ll flesh this out a bit more when I examine the show Evangelion.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Superego is worldview

  1. Edenist Whackjob says:

    ‘We actually have hardware in our eyes that sharpens the appearance of edges of objects in space. It’s impossible for us to perceive “real” incoming visual data, which would look significantly more flattened, without this preprocessing.’

    Hmm. I wonder how this knowledge would have impacted eg the philosophy of Forms back in Antiquity? Imagine Plato doing LSD.

  2. rusty fife says:

    Perception -> superego -> id -> ego

    Congrats, you rediscovered the OODA loop.

    “Great minds…” and all that.

  3. rusty fife says:

    It’s a good thing. It validates your insight.

  4. rusty fife says:

    I’m reading disapointment. Perhaps as an engineer I have a different perspective. People die if I make mistakes. When I have a great new idea, I’m very suspicious of it, until I see it has been done before. If it was done by a giant; then I’m elated. I think like a giant!

    Management melons that hate new ideas and always say, “think outside the box”. But never know what the boundaries of the box are. Whereas, I literally patented a box.

    At a minimum, you have redifined what constitutes ‘orientation’. In essence, worldview constrains the ‘decide’ step.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      >I’m reading disapointment.

      No, it was just realization on my part. Didn’t translate well through text. At this point, I presume that every idea I put out is a rediscovery.

      >Perhaps as an engineer I have a different perspective. People die if I make mistakes. When I have a great new idea, I’m very suspicious of it, until I see it has been done before. If it was done by a giant; then I’m elated. I think like a giant!

      In contrast, I’m elated by the idea itself. If I find that someone else has had the idea, it doesn’t give me the goodfeelz but my confidence in the idea is reinforced and that’s satisfying in its own way.

      >Management melons that hate new ideas and always say, “think outside the box”. But never know what the boundaries of the box are. Whereas, I literally patented a box.

      :-)

      >At a minimum, you have redifined what constitutes ‘orientation’. In essence, worldview constrains the ‘decide’ step.

      I still dream that all of this blog fodder will come together some day into a coherent, hierarchical description. Of course, it will probably turn out to be a rehash of something Aristotle said in fewer words, but it’s an idyllic vanity project.

  5. Pingback: Training, experience, flow state, and OODA | Aeoli Pera

  6. Pingback: On politicians | Aeoli Pera

  7. Pingback: A more precise definition of intuition | Aeoli Pera

Leave a Reply

