More feelz

This is the second time in only six months. I’m taken aback, quite frankly.

Today was my last day at the pizza place where I’ve been working since August or so. I’ve been working since I was twelve, spanning about twenty different workplaces, and this is the first time I’ve ever been legitimately sad to leave a job. Keep in mind, before this I’ve watched friends go off to college, had friends simply stop picking their phones up, grown apart from people, been laid off, been fired, etc. I’ve left jobs congenially (with broken promises to keep up on Facebook), left clubs suddenly and gradually, given a month’s notice out of utter exhaustion, and even walked out of one job with no warning at all (the strip club) when I realized—suddenly and apropos of nothing—I was shit out of patience. So I know what loss feels like.

This is different. The pizza place was the only time in my life where I’ve ever felt like I was breaking up with my whole tribe all at once. There are a bunch of people there I don’t know, some I barely know, some who barely knew how to say “hi” in English…but there were also several I connected with in ways I didn’t know it was possible for such cynical old people to still attain. But it’s more than that. More than anything, I had a place there where I belonged. I could show up every day and know I was scheduled to work the slap station because for some reason my autism gives me a preternatural talent for kneading pizza dough. So I’d slap for ten hours straight sometimes, tired but happily occupied, alternately shouting awful jokes back and forth with the old timers and daydreaming. Sometimes a new kid would ask “why is that guy always writing on receipt paper?” and they’d say “That’s just Aeoli, he’s writing notes for his crazy blog. He’s some kind of genius or something but he’s okay.”

I know this is a bit self-indulgent so I won’t go on much longer, but the point is that I finally understand the feeling in those high school movies where the gang breaks up at the end. It’s a mix of nostalgia and deja vu for something that hasn’t even happened yet, where you’re looking around and thinking you’ll never see these people all together in this place again, and you already miss it so bad that it hurts in parts of your brain you thought had rotted away when your balls dropped. In a sane world I’d stay here and live happily ever after, making pizzas until it went out of style. But that would be disrespectful to my longsuffering parents, and with 60k in student loans squatting on my back it’s not even an option. Thus, our hero returns to Michigan, the land of his birth, to fight the rampaging dragons and seek his fortune.

So, my gut still says “Fuck this gay earth and you can all burn in Hell”, but there are times I guess it’s okay. I’ll really miss you guys down in Godforsaken Indiana :-).

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to More feelz

  1. Aeoli Pera says:

    Thanks man, it’s weird to have someone rooting for me but it’s great too. All the better that you have an impressive intellect and you’re even writing your own blog now like an autiste or something :-O. I broke out some good liquor for the occasion.

  2. Akuma says:

    Good Job.

    “Sometimes a new kid would ask “why is that guy always writing on receipt paper?” and they’d say “That’s just Aeoli, he’s writing notes for his crazy blog. He’s some kind of genius or something but he’s okay.””

    Where do live? I’ve almost gotten murdered for talking about blogs before.

  3. mobiuswolf says:

    One of the greatest joys, an efficient crew and a job well done. Pretty rare, too.
    Still, it’s pizza. I find I can only do them until I master it. Then it’s on to the next.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      We took a poll once, everybody in the kitchen had an extreme case of ADHD. That’s probably why we got along so well, and why we could handle dinner rushes the way we did. A surprising number of people simply can’t operate or thrive in that environment.

      #RightPlanet

  4. Whats goin on in MICHiGAN?

  5. Edenist Whackjob says:

    Study this man’s Youtube channel, it holds the keys: https://www.youtube.com/user/jsonmez/videos

  6. Edenist Whackjob says:

    Congrats on taking self-improvement seriously – would that more in Edenism would take after your example.

  7. Koanic says:

    Take your soma, citizen.

  8. glosoli says:

    I know how you feel brother, had exactly the same feelings when I left a happy workplace family back in Wales, I actually cried like a baby when I got home, after just keeping it together as I left the building. I was 33 then.

    Hope the move works out well for you though.

  9. Son of Distant Trebizond says:

    Courage, Aeoli! Dragons hate the cold… Except for Frost Dragons of course, which is unfair.

    Consider my axe your axe. Am rooting for ya. Have burnt an offering to Great Krum, God of Nobilids, in your windy name.

    Skjol!

  10. kensuimo says:

    Beating dough by day, beating h̶i̶s̶ ̶m̶e̶a̶t̶ Antifa by night. I do hope you’ve trained a suitable replacement.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      I don’t believe either skill can be trained.

    • Cuckmaster Flex says:

      [to the tune of “Heat” by 50 Cent]

      Beating dough by day, beating pu**y by night/
      If it ain’t white, fam, you know it ain’t right

      Cuz the sapien-ettes, they love my nobilid ways/
      Always textin’ my phone to give me no-limit praise

      So when you see a new post, you better give it a click/
      Or I’ll cave in your head with this Ice Age d*ck

      My occipital lobe is so big that itz silly/
      Visualizin’ my stacks while I’m makin’ a ‘milli

      Bun game is massive, plus my d*ck is, too/
      and that’s why i’ma blast at your whack-ass crew [gunshot sound effects in background]

      This psychotic genius will never be sated/
      Take a hit of insight and lay back, straight faded

      People be askin’ how I stay so real/
      Now put your hands in the air if you know that feel

      [Chorus, repeat 3x]
      Just like Cleve told me/
      when I was learnin’ to ball:

      “Always bet/
      on Neanderthal”

      Just like Cleve told me/
      when I was learnin’ to ball:

      “Always bet/
      on Neanderthal”

      Just like Cleve told me/
      when I was learnin’ to ball:

      “Always bet/
      on Neanderthal”

      we out

  11. Lizard King says:

    Best of luck man!

  12. Heaviside says:

    Looking forward to the Cialdini video.

  13. That Pizza Guy says:

    You’ll be missed Aeolipera ! Now go to Michigan and do That thing we call “Slay”.

  14. Boneflour says:

    Late to the party, but you can do it!

  15. We miss you bro text me sometime

Leave a Reply

