Why do anything?

There’s a misconception that the political left spreads lies for their own sake, in worship of a platonic deceiver. That assumes quite a bit more agency than I believe is warranted. It is more correct to say that truth is not a leftist value–that is, a leftist is unconcerned with whether their ideas correspond to reality. They don’t get that jolt of pleasure from achieving a position of heightened clarity that you or I might. Mere understanding has no benefit except for the pragmatic purpose of winning some other battle, and as often as not it is more adaptive to not understand. Even the platonic deceiver O’ Brien from 1984 does not warp minds for its own sake–rather, he’s doing it as a flex to solidify his position of power.

In the same way, the political right places no emotional weight on winning political battles. Effectiveness is not a rightist value. Those few precious moments in recent memory when the right was winning, it was because they adopted the political pragmatism that has been the near-exclusive domain of the left for 250 years or so. Their inability to achieve anything is due to defining their self-concept by what they are NOT: not shills, not liars, not hypocrites, not degenerates, not Jewish, etc. Because happiness is best defined as the progressive actualization of deeply held values, this means actions which define rightists as NOT something–purity spiraling, criticism of ideological impurity, and disavowal–are their purest sources of dopamine. This leads to the aphagia of Mouse Utopia’s “death squared” without fail, which I’ve described best in these two posts:

NEETs and pathological virtue signalling, explained
Diagnosis of the West: libido decoupling

Most people absorb their values from the collective unconscious, through the biased filter of their genetic temperament. I’m no exception to this–more of my worldview probably comes from Veggie Tales than I would be comfortable to know. Thus, most people can’t deconstruct their ethics, which brings us to the question in the title. Why do anything? It’s the most basic question in ethics and I bet if I asked you right now you’d give me a list of noble adjectives with no logical, syllogistic content describing someone you’d like to be someday as long as it’s not too uncomfortable. I can count on my hand the number of people I know who can answer this question five whys deep. No offense, but if you can’t even do this you’re basically subhuman filth.

>Why do anything?

“Because doing nothing is degenerate.”

>Why is doing nothing degenerate?

“If you have to consciously analyze morality you’re genetically a leftist.”

>Why is degeneration bad?

*Posts disgusting memes to show it’s an instinctive value*

>Why does anything you do matter?

“In the end it doesn’t.”

>Why do good things instead of doing things that aren’t bad but aren’t really good either and don’t discomfort you?

*Gets distracted by organizing anime collection*

I deal with a lot of people who are wrestling with their lack of motivation (i.e. the aphagia mentioned above). When it comes down to it, they find they really can’t justify pushing through discomfort to achieve material results. Usually this is due to either materialist hedonism (“nothing I do on earth matters in the end”) or Christian nihilism (“nothing I do on earth matters in the end”). The most important example is pushing through the difficulty of forming meaningful connections with other people, which hedonistically speaking is not worth the effort of dragging a dysfunctional modern white person through a half-decent conversation. Anyone who tells you connecting with other people is an easy and natural thing to do is selling you a line of bullshit–they’re basically Boomers. Social institutions like the family, the church, the workplace, and the academies are not functional by nature. We’re biased to think they are because no one bothers to write down anything in the Hobbesian state of nature, so we’re biased to think that the Song Dynasty and the Italian Renaissance are representative of normal human life on earth, rather than times of extraordinary genius and human flourishing. But these moments of civility and decency in human history have been the exception rather than the rule.

To contrast with the conversation above, here’s my five whys:

>Why do anything?

Because acting in the world is necessary to love others.

>Why love others?

Because 1. God commands it and 2. God models the behavior.

>Why do those things matter?

The first because God’s commands always have consequences, and the second because modeling God’s behavior brings me spiritually closer to him.

>Why do consequences and this abstract “spiritual closeness” matter?

Because these consequences are eternal and because closeness to God is the telos of my existence. It’s designed into my nature.

>Why are the consequences eternal? Why are you designed that way?

I don’t know.

>Then how are you absolutely certain those things are true?

I don’t. It’s a judgment call based on the reliability of the Bible as a witness, which is based on the cosmological argument for the existence of God, the argument laid out in Mere Christianity, the average behavior of Christians in contrast with other groups, and a lot of evidence picked up from a lifelong enjoyment of Christian apologetics.

I phrased the title of the post as a question because lately I’m trying to get as much feedback as possible about NEETs’ moral precepts. I don’t think it’s possible to be moral if you can’t even say why you’d choose to be moral, because otherwise you’re not choosing at all, you’re reacting according to your instincts. If there’s a common philosophical ground it will be possible to reason with some of them and get a good return on the effort. If they’re ruled by pure nihilism then they will have to be dragged by the nose to a new philosophy with propaganda and subconscious influences, lacking the mental categories for motivating themselves through anything more mentally uncomfortable or demanding.

Also, if anyone knows of a good resource that helps people to get draw this sort of reasoning out of people with less effort (maybe an encyclopedia of ethical philosophies or something like that), please post it. I figure a middle ground between pure solipsistic self-talk and pure visual brainwashing will have the best returns.

About Aeoli Pera

Maybe do this later?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Why do anything?

  1. Just another private in GOD's war says:

    War is man’s most pointed endeavor. If you want truth about mankind, that’s where you will find it.
    – 1st gen is tribe vs. tribe == attacking the identity
    – 2nd gen is army vs. army == attacking the body
    – 3rd gen is maneuver vs. maneuver == attacking the mind
    – 4th gen is morale vs. morale == attacking the spirit

    Don’t forget politics is war by other means.

    The observation about the Left not caring about whether something corresponds to reality and thereby winning, is only looking at the war in part. They have been consistently driven from every battle field over time.
    – They no longer claim Luciferianism/communism or any other -ism as an identity; the moment it is publically declared they have to run from it (see SJW).
    – They have no armies left to field; conceivably China but that is just a really big 1st gen army
    – Their lies are continuously being challenged and defeated; look how far Greta has actually gotten
    – Their major moral sacrament, abortion, is losing ground in the American mindspace
    – They have had to retreat to Identity Politics to hold any ground; Trump is about to show them how come tribes lose to national armies

    They’re non-correspondence to reality is losing them the war.

  2. Just another private in GOD's war. says:

    From memory, Lind has a matrix
    Columns -> Strategic; Operational; Tactical
    Rows -> Physical; Logical; Moral

    For any given action, fill in all none boxes as to whether the action meets your objectives. If all nine boxes are a yes, do it; else don’t.

    I’ll bet there is another row for Identity. Bringing the box total up to twelve. Apparent strategic objective “Serve God”.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Uh huh. You may be interested in my new line of merch, Swords of Light for God’s warriors. $19.95, a bargain when you consider that you’ll be winning the culture war forever.

      (NB: It’s actually a moleskine notebook for writing down important strategic concepts.)

  3. Just another private in GOD's war. says:

    You asked for a book. I gave you my best answer. “I figure a middle ground between pure solipsistic self-talk and pure visual brainwashing will have the best returns.”

    Seriously, the military stuff HAS to work or the officer dies. It’s the opposite of the Ivory Tower.

    Sun Tzu isn’t read today because his insight into the human condition is faulty.

  4. Just another private in GOD's war. says:

    Shot for extra credit: Myamoto Musashi’s Book of the Five Rings

    That should juice your Anime dopamine receptors.

  5. Contaminated NEET says:

    Ah hell – I’m probably subhuman filth. Let’s try it and see:

    >Why do anything?
    Because in the future I will regret doing nothing more than I will regret doing the things I’m likely to do.

    >Why is it bad to regret things?
    Because it hurts. It feels bad, man. You don’t need any justification not to touch a hot stove.

    >Why do you care what a hypothetical future-you might or might not feel? He’s not present-you, and any continuity between you and him is an illusion.
    Spare me the TED-Talk mind-blowing. It’s intuitively obvious to me that we have a meaningful continuity of identity through time. Despite all the changes I’ve been through, I’m certain that me-from-ten-years-ago is me, and me-ten-year-from-now will also be me. You feel the same thing, despite your counter-intuitive IYI crap.

    >OK, but why try to change the external world if what you’re worried about is your future mental state? You control your own mind, after all. Instead of acting, wouldn’t it be easier to introspect and modify your desires so that future-you won’t regret doing nothing, or maybe even won’t regret anything ever?
    It would not be easier. Whole religions are based around trying to modify your mind like that, and it’s still supposed to be a very rare and special achievement. Marriage, child-rearing, opening a business, developing skills – all these are likely to be far easier than willing myself into nirvana.

    >So you want maximum reward for minimum effort, eh? Why aren’t you shooting heroine right now then, smart guy?
    I said I wish to avoid future regrets. In the long run, heroine will bring me more pain than pleasure.

  6. boneflour says:

    Huh, this looks like an interesting bit.

    Why do anything?
    Hey, why not?

    [Joke post complete, can now answer question for real]

  7. boneflour says:

    –Why do anything?
    Well, I tried not doing anything, and it really didn’t work.

    –Why didn’t it work?
    Something about ‘to find rest, you must seek exertion’. The NEET life makes you feel terrible and useless. Living for pleasure is a full-time job, because if you ever stop, you remember you have nothing to live for.
    It’s better to do the anime thing, find ‘something you want to protect’ and live for other people, even just a little bit.

    –Why do the extra work of ‘live for other people’ instead of just end it all?
    Survival instinct too stronk. Fear of pain too stronk. If I’m going to live for a very long time, whether I want to or not, might as well set myself up as best I can for the future.

    –Why set yourself up as best you can? Why not find an equilibrium, tread water and ‘stay comfy’?
    Because I am not just setting myself up for the future anymore. I have people I need to protect, and to set them up for the future, I have to do more than I have been. I have to think about the needs and desires of others now, too.

    It’s a great day to do squats and deadlifts and do things for the people I love, and who care about me. And taxes. Man, taxes suck.

    –But why is doing the anime thing ‘better’?
    Personally, it boosts all my life outcome metrics by a crazy amount. Results are noice.
    It’s good for the people around me that I care about.
    Stable people investing in their community is a basic building block of ‘we live in a society’.

    Better in a more global sense?

    Universal ideologies fail because no finite set of rules can fit all permutations of an infinite world. Maybe it could be a bad thing to do in some situations.
    If a person is interested in ‘saving humanity/civilization/’The West’… friendship and community service is more powerful than voting.

    Doing uncomfortable but useful things for an hour or so a day is more effective than all the purity spiraling and ‘poolside sitting’ in the world. You might be surprised how much you can get done before dinner.

    • Aeoli Pera says:

      Personally, I’ve been shocked at how much I can get done as long as I keep my goals clear, my plans simple, and my head straight. This is a good answer. You’ve basically rediscovered stoicism.

  8. Pingback: One Answer To 'Why Do Anything?' – Boneflour

  9. Cool NEET says:

    >Why do anything?
    The act of doing nothing is more painful than doing the bare minimum of something. Unless you mean why do something in favor of doing nothing when either options will give an equal amount of immediate discomfort or pleasure. Then the act of doing something that brings objective benefit either immediately or within prediction in the long term over the act that is either neutral or negative is preferable. But this is also subject to human error, and to be human is to error.
    >Why is pain avoided?
    I don’t know. The brain is a marvel to me and reality is confusing and pain itself is a complex emotion that can only have meaning in the context of it’s provocation. Within one frame of thought, pain is avoided because it’s a response to, or a psychological representation of, an immediate negative consequence caused by a destructive or dangerous interaction with the outside world. Within another frame of thought, pain is avoided because it’s instinctual to avoid pain, something governed by physical laws and then extended into the laws of genetics, and then extended into a mind able to perceive pain.
    >Why does any of this matter?
    Someone on the internet did something similar to this and I’m compelled to do so out of a longing for “doing the right thing.” Being able to fit in and have a sense of duty is one of my main drivers in life, although it is incredibly weak compared to my inability to comprehend the complexity, or perceived complexity, of life. The correct answer as I see it now is to not worry too much, although I am stumped in wondering if I should commit to trying to prolong my life here or commit to trying to be as virtuous of a person I can be, virtue being defined as the vague feelings of righteousness of my dog like morality of following a God that I’m not sure exists outside of my mind.
    >Why place value to the minds of both the existent and non-existent?
    My feminine nature calls me to accept the ideas of others over the base instincts that I’m born with and the experience that I’ve accumulated, implying that the base femininity is not itself instinctual and purely a mental attribute. I also believe myself to be inferior to the mind of my possible creator, and I place an unhealthy amount of trust in the good will of men.
    >Why follow along with the inclinations you’re born with?
    it’s easier and more comfortable. And I fear that if I question it too much I will see a reason for why I’m a terrible person that should do something productive in his life, if not for the sake of his self then for the sake of the genes that built him.

    It’s fucking cold in my room and my fingers aren’t working. This has been more of a pain to write than I wanted it to be.

  10. Cool NEET says:

    >Why do anything?
    The act of doing nothing is more painful than doing the bare minimum of something. Unless you mean why do something in favor of doing nothing when either options will give an equal amount of immediate discomfort or pleasure. Then the act of doing something that brings objective benefit either immediately or within prediction in the long term over the act that is either neutral or negative is preferable. But this is also subject to human error, and to be human is to error.
    >Why is pain avoided?
    I don’t know. The brain is a marvel to me and reality is confusing and pain itself is a complex emotion that can only have meaning in the context of it’s provocation. Within one frame of thought, pain is avoided because it’s a response to, or a psychological representation of, an immediate negative consequence caused by a destructive or dangerous interaction with the outside world. Within another frame of thought, pain is avoided because it’s instinctual to avoid pain, something governed by physical laws and then extended into the laws of genetics, and then extended into a mind able to perceive pain.
    >Why does any of this matter?
    Someone on the internet did something similar to this and I’m compelled to do so out of a longing for “doing the right thing.” Being able to fit in and have a sense of duty is one of my main drivers in life, although it is incredibly weak compared to my inability to comprehend the complexity, or perceived complexity, of life. The correct answer as I see it now is to not worry too much, although I am stumped in wondering if I should commit to trying to prolong my life here or commit to trying to be as virtuous of a person I can be, virtue being defined as the vague feelings of righteousness of my dog like morality of following a God that I’m not sure exists outside of my mind.
    >Why place value to the minds of both the existent and non-existent?
    My feminine nature calls me to accept the ideas of others over the base instincts that I’m born with and the experience that I’ve accumulated, implying that the base femininity is not itself instinctual and purely a mental attribute. I also believe myself to be inferior to the mind of my possible creator, and I place an unhealthy amount of trust in the good will of men.
    >Why follow along with the inclinations you’re born with?
    it’s easier and more comfortable. And I fear that if I question it too much I will see a reason for why I’m a terrible person that should do something productive in his life, if not for the sake of his self then for the sake of the genes that built him.

    It’s fucking cold in my room and my fingers aren’t working. This has been more of a pain to write than I wanted it to be.
    My other comments were never approved so I’ll see if it’s intentional or not by posting with a real email.

  11. Pingback: Re: Why Do Anything? – True Ataraxia Radio

  12. Pingback: Re: RE: WHY DO ANYTHING? | Aeoli Pera

Leave a comment